West Bengal districts | full list | interesting facts

West Bengal is a state in Eastern India. It is one of the most densely populated states still, it has a relatively less number of districts. Bihar, which is just a tad larger in area and has a comparable population density as West Bengal, has 38 districts. West Bengal has currently 23 districts. The following is a full list of districts in West Bengal.

Full list of districts in West Bengal

DistrictArea (square kilometers)Population
4Cooch Behar3,38728.2 lakhs
5Dakshin Dinajpur (South Dinajpur)2,16216,70,931
13Malda3,73339.9 lakhs
15Nadia3,92751.7 lakhs
16North 24 Parganas4,0941,00,09,781
17Paschim Medinipur (West Medinipur)6,30859,43,300
18Paschim Bardhaman (Burdwan)1,60328,82,031
19Purba Bardhaman (Burdwan)5,43348,35,532
20Purba Medinipur (East Medinipur)4,73651 Lakhs
22South 24 Parganas9,96081.6 lakhs
23Uttar Dinajpur (North Dinajpur)3,14230.1 lakhs

The stats will be updated after the new census.

Interesting facts about the districts in West Bengal

  • South 24 Parganas is the largest district in terms of area in West Bengal.
  • North 24 Parganas is the most populous district in West Bengal.
  • Alipurduar district was formed on 25 June 2014 bifurcating the Jalpaiguri district.
  • Kalimpong district was formed on 14 February 2017 bifurcating the Darjeeling district.
  • Jhargram district was formed on 4 April 2017 bifurcating the Paschim Medinipur district.
  • Sundarbans and Basirhat will be the two new districts in West Bengal. Sunderbans district will be formed after the bifurcation of South 24 Parganas district. Basirhat district will be formed after the bifurcation of North 24 Parganas district.
  • The 23 districts of West Bengal fall under 5 administrative divisions- Medinipur division, Burdwan division, Malda division, Jalpaiguri division, and Presidency division.
Administrative divisionDistricts
Presidency divisionHowrah, Kolkata, Nadia, South 24 Parganas, North 24 Parganas
Medinipur divisionBankura, Jhargram, Paschim Medinipur (West Medinipur), Purba Medinipur (East Medinipur), Purulia
Burdwan divisionBirbhum, Hooghly, Paschim Bardhaman (Burdwan), Purba Bardhaman (Burdwan)
Malda divisionMalda, Murshidabad, Uttar Dinajpur (North Dinajpur), Dakshin Dinajpur (North Dinajpur)
Jalpaiguri divisionAlipurduar, Cooch Behar, Darjeeling, Kalimpong, Jalpaiguri

Read more

Full list of districts in Tamil Nadu | interesting facts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top