Districts in Uttarakhand | full list | interesting facts

Uttarakhand is a state in North India. It borders Tibet on the north, Nepal on the east, Uttar Pradesh on the South, and Himachal Pradesh on the west. Known as the “Dev Bhumi” meaning the land of the Gods, the state is the first-choice destination for spiritual travelers. There are a total of 13 districts in Uttarakhand. The 13 districts are-

Districts in Uttarakhand

DistrictArea (square kilometers)PopulationDivision
3Chamoli8,030 (largest area)3,91,605Garhwal
6Haridwar2,36018,90,422 (largest population)Garhwal
8Pauri Garhwal5,2306,87,271Garhwal
11Tehri Garhwal3,6426,18,931Garhwal
12Udham Singh Nagar2,5421,648,902Kumaon
full list of districts in Uttarakhand

Some interesting facts about the districts in Uttarakhand

  • Haridwar district is the most populous district in Uttrakhand. The district has a population of around 19 lakhs as per the 2011 census.
  • Chamoli is the largest district in terms of area followed by Uttarkashi.
  • Champawat is the smallest district in terms of area.
  • The summer capital Gairsain is located in the Chamoli district. The capital Dehradun is located in the Dehradun district.
  • Kedarnath Dham is located in the Rudraprayag district while the Badrinath Dham is located in the Chamoli district.
Badrinath Dham in Chamoli district of Uttarakhand
Badrinath Dham in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand
  • Yamunotri and Gangotri Dham are located in the Uttarkashi district.
  • The districts bordering Tibet are Chamoli, Pithoragarh, and Uttarkashi.
  • The districts bordering Nepal are Pithoragarh, Champawat, and Udham Singh Nagar. 
  • There are two administrative divisions in Uttarakhand- Garhwal division and Kumaon division. The districts under Garhwal division are-
  1. Chamoli
  2. Dehradun
  3. Haridwar
  4. Pauri Garhwal
  5. Rudraprayag
  6. Tehri Garhwal
  7. Uttarkashi

The districts under the Kumaon divisions are-

  1. Almora
  2. Bageshwar
  3. Champawat
  4. Nainital
  5. Pithoragarh
  6. Udham Singh Nagar
Nainital lake
Image by Arindam Singh from Pixabay
  • The highest peak of Uttarakhand Nanda Devi is located in the Chamoli district. Nanda Devi stands at an elevation of 7,816 metres above sea level.

Read more

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top