Districts in Assam | full list | interesting facts

Assam is the most populous state in Northeastern India. There are 35 districts in Assam which is a very high number for a state of its size. Jharkhand which has a similar area to Assam has 24 districts. The following is a full list of districts in Assam.

Full list of districts in Assam

DistrictArea (square kilometers)Population
1BaksaUnknown Unknown
6Cachar3,78617.4 lakhs
8Chirang1,1704.8 lakhs
12Dibrugarh3,38113.3 lakhs
13Dima Hasao district (North Cachar Hills)4,8882,14,102
14Goalpara1,82410.1 lakhs
15Golaghat3,50210.7 lakhs
16Hailakandi1,3276.59 lakhs
20Kamrup Metropolitan1,52812,60,419
21Karbi AnglongUnknown Unknown
22Karimganj1,80912.3 lakhs
26Morigaon 1,7049.57 lakhs
28Nalbari2,2577.72 lakhs
31South Salmara MankacharUnknown Unknown
32TamulpurUnknown Unknown
35West Karbi AnglongUnknown Unknown

The stats will be updated after the new census.

*The unknown fields will be updated soon.

Key points

  • Karbi Anglong (East) is the largest district in Assam in terms of area.
  • On 15 August 2015, five new districts were announced in Assam.
  1. Charaideo district was formed after the bifurcation of the Sivasagar district.
  2. Biswanath district was formed by bifurcating the Sonitpur district.
  3. Hojai district was also formed bifurcating the Nagaon district.
  4. South Salmara Mankachar district was separated from Dhubri district.
  5. Karbi Anglong district was divided into West Karbi Anglong and Karbi Anglong districts.
  • There were 27 districts in Assam during the 2011 census.
  • Majuli district was formed on 27 June 2016. Majuli is the largest river island in the world. It has an area of 875 square kilometers and a population of about 1.7 lakhs.
  • Balaji district was formed on 12 January 2021 after the bifurcation of the Barpeta district.
  • Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa, and Udalguri districts of Assam share a border with Bhutan.
  • Dhubri, South Salmara Mankachar, Karimganj, and Cachar districts of Assam share a border with Bangladesh.
  • The districts of Assam fall under 5 administrative divisions- Upper Assam, Barak Valley, Central Assam, Lower Assam, and North Assam.
  • Tamulpur district was carved out of the Baksa district in January 2022. Tamulpur is currently the newest district in Assam.
Administrative divisionDistricts
Upper AssamCharaideo. Dhemaji, Dibrugarh, Golaghat. Jorhat, Majuli, Lakhimpur, Sivasagar, Tinsukia
Barak ValleyCachar, Hailakandi, Karimganj
Central AssamDima Hasao, Hojai, Karbi Anglong, Morigaon, Nagaon, West Karbi Anglong
Lower AssamBaksa, Balaji, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Dhubri, Goalpara, Kamrup, Kamrup Metropolitan, Kokrajhar, Nalbari, South Salmara Mankachar, Tamulpur
North AssamBiswanath, Darrang, Sonitpur, Udalguri

Read more

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top