Districts in Maharashtra | full list | interesting facts

Maharashtra is the third-largest state in India and has a total of 36 districts. The state is divided into six divisions which are further divided into 5 to 8 districts. The 6 divisions are – Nashik division, Amravati division, Aurangabad division, Nagpur division, Pune division, and Konkan division. The following is a full list of districts in Maharashtra.


Full list of districts in Maharashtra

DistrictArea (square kilometers)PopulationDivision
1Ahmednagar17,04845,43,159Nashik division
2Akola5,42818,18,617Amravati division
3Amravati12,21028,88,445Amravati division
4Aurangabad10,10037,01,282Aurangabad division
5Beed10,69325,85,049Aurangabad division
6Bhandara4,08712,00,334Nagpur division
7Buldhana9,66125,86,258Amravati division
8Chandrapur11,44321,94,962Nagpur division
9Dhule7,19520,50,862Nashik division
10Gadchiroli14,41210,72,942Nagpur division
11Gondia5,23413,22,507Nagpur division
12Hingoli4,526~12 lakhAurangabad division
13Jalgaon11,76542,29,917Nashik division
14Jalna7,687.3919,58,483Aurangabad division
15Kolhapur7,68538,76,001Pune division
16Latur7,15724,54,196Aurangabad division
17Mumbai City15730,85,411Konkan division
18Mumbai Suburban44693,56,962Konkan division
19Nagpur9,89246,53,570Nagpur division
20Nanded10,52833,61,292Aurangabad division
21Nandurbar5,95516,48,295Nashik division
22Nashik15,58261,07,187Nashik division
23Osmanabad7,56916,57,576Aurangabad division
24Palghar4696.9929,90,116Konkan division
25Parbhani6,250.5818,36,086Aurangabad division
26Pune15,64394,26,959Pune division
27Raigad7,15226,34,200Konkan division
28Ratnagiri8,20816,15,069Konkan division
29Sangli8,57828,20,575Pune division
30Satara10,48030,03,741Pune division
31Sindhudurg5,2078,68,825Konkan division
32Solapur14,89543,17,756Pune division
33Thane4,214UnknownKonkan division
34Wardha6,31013,00,774Nagpur division
35Washim5,15012,97,160Amravati division
36Yavatmal13,58420.77 lakhAmravati division
Table showing the full list of districts in Maharashtra

The population stats will be updated after the new census.

Interesting facts about districts in Maharashtra

  • Ahmednagar district is the largest district in terms of area in Maharashtra.
  • Mumbai city district is the smallest district in Maharashtra. It has an area of just 157 square kilometers.
  • Palghar district separated from Thane district on 1st August 2014.
  • Regions of Maharashtra should not be confused with divisions in Maharashtra. There are 5 regions in Maharashtra-
  1. Vidarbha
  2. Marathwada
  3. Konkan
  4. Khandesh
  5. Paschim Maharashtra
  • Mumbai city falls under the Konkan division.
  • The UNESCO world heritage sites, the Ajanta Caves and the Ellora caves are located in the Aurangabad district.
  • Nashik district is one of the four locations in India where the Kumbh Mela is organized.

The data is collected from the official websites of districts or the last census reports.

Read more

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top