Districts in MP (Madhya Pradesh) | full list | interesting facts

Madhya Pradesh has the second most number of districts among all states in India, second to Uttar Pradesh which has 75. There are currently 52 districts in Madhya Pradesh. In this article, all the 52 districts in MP are listed along with some interesting information.

Districts in MP (Madhya Pradesh)

DistrictArea (square kilometers)PopulationDivision
1Agar Malwa2,701.935.71 LakhsUjjain division
2Alirajpur3,1827,28,999Indore division
3Anuppur3,746.717,49,237Shahdol division
4Ashoknagar4,673.948,44,979Gwalior division
5Balaghat9,24517,01,698Jabalpur division
6Barwani5,42713,85,881Indore division
7Betul10,04315,75,247Jabalpur division
8Bhind4,45917,03,562Chambal division
9Bhopal2,77223,68,145Bhopal division
10Burhanpur3,4277,56,993Indore division
11Chhatarpur10,86317,62,857Sagar division
12Chhindwara11,81520,90,922Jabalpur division
13Damoh7,30612,64,219Sagar division
14Datia2,9597,86,754Gwalior division
15Dewas7,02015,63,715Ujjain division
16Dhar8,1532,185,793Indore division
17Dindori7,4707,04,524Jabalpu division
18Gwalior4,56020,32,036Gwalior division
19Guna6,39012,40,938Gwalior division
20Harda2,644.325,70,465Jabalpur division
21Indore10,86334,06,061Indore division
22Jabalpur5,21124,63,289Jabalpur division
23Jhabua3,60010,25,048Indore division
24Katni4,95012,92,042Jabalpur division
25Khandwa8,30713,10,061Indore division
26Khargone6,47718,72,413Indore division
27Mandla5,80010,54,905Jabalpur division
28Mandsaur9,79113,39,832Ujjain division
29Morena4,998.7812,79,090Chambal division
30Narmadapuram (Hoshangabad)5,408.2312,40,975Narmadapuram division
31Narsinghpur5,125.5510,92,141Jabalpur division
32Neemuch3,8757,25,457Ujjain division
33Niwari1,1704,04,807Sagar division
34Panna7,13510,16,520Sagar division
35Raisen8,46613,31,597Bhopal division
36Rajgarh6,15415,45,814Bhopal division
37Ratlam4,86114,55,069Ujjain division
38Rewa6,24026,61,189Rewa division
39Sagar10,25223,78,458Sagar division
40Satna7,50222,28,619Rewa division
41Sehore6,57813,11,332Bhopal division
42Seoni8,75813,79,131Jabalpur division
43Shahdol5,61010,66,063Shahdol division
44Shajapur3,460.49,41,403Ujjain division
45Sheopur6,6066,87,861Chambal division
46Shivpuri10,66617,25,782Gwalior division
47Sidhi10,52611,26,515Rewa division
48Singrauli5,67511,78,273Rewa division
49Tikamgarh3,87810,40,359Sagar division
50Ujjain6,09119,86,864Ujjain division
51Umaria4,5486,44,758Shahdol division
52Vidisha7,37114,58,875Bhopal division

Interesting facts about the districts in MP

  • Chhindwara district is the largest district in terms of area in Madhya Pradesh.
  • Indore district is the most populous district in Madhya Pradesh.
  • The districts in MP fall under 10 divisions-
  1. Bhopal division
  2. Sagar division
  3. Ujjain division
  4. Shahdol division
  5. Chambal division
  6. Gwalior division
  7. Indore division
  8. Rewa division
  9. Jabalpur division
  10. Narmadapuram division
  • Niwari district is the smallest district in terms of the area in MP.
  • Niwari district is the newest district in MP. It was created on 1 October 2018 after the bifurcation of the Tikamgarh district.
  • 3 New districts are proposed in MP- Nagda, Maihar, and Chachaura.
  • There are two UNESCO world heritage sites located in the Raisen district.
  1. Buddhist monuments of Sanchi
  2. Bhimbetka Rock Shelters
  • Khajuraho temples are located in the Chhatarpur District.
  • Hoshangabad district is now called Narmadapuram district.

Read more

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *